2006 April News

 

 

Happy Spring!

2006 started off with a bang and, like everyone else, I’ve stayed in scramble mode, trying to keep up.

I started the year with some vision challenges, and I’ve been very lucky that technology in that area has just exploded.  In a very short time now, my sight will be better than normal, which is amazing to me.

Last weekend, I did three lectures at the Emerald Coast Writers, Inc.’s annual conference.  I attended the other workshops offered, and I have to say that I was impressed.  These were some of the best and most informative lectures I’ve ever attended.

My favorite was one done on Writer’s Block (and was really all about life) done by Life Coach, Darlene Dean.  She’ll be doing a half-day workshop near Destin, Florida in the near future, and I’ll be reserving a front-row seat.

I’ve been blogging on life, writing and just whatever is on my mind at the moment, and I have to say, I’m enjoying it.  I didn’t think I would, to be honest, but it kind of seduces you in, and it’s a great tool for de-stressing and unwinding.  For the record, spouses do appreciate the benefits of that.

On the home front, the family is expecting TWO new BABIES!!!!  Can you believe it?  Eldest son’s wife and my daughter are both expecting.  It’ll be his first and her second.  Autumn is going to be really busy, too!

April 2006 News

Conferences  are coming up quickly now.  In May, I’ll be at the Romantic Times conference in Daytona Beach, Florida.  I’m handing the Action/Adventure workshops there., and I’m happy to report that Allison Brennan, Debra Webb, Lorna Tedder, and many others have agreed to sit on the panels.  I’ll be on the Thriller, mainstream Action/Adventure, and the Bombshell panels.  Looking forward to the beach and I hope to see many of you there.

In June, it’s off to Phoenix and ThrillerFest, which is shaping up to be a terrific confer-

ence, and then in July up to Atlanta for RWA.  If you’re at either, please say hi.

Online, I’m doing two more chats in April.  On the 6th at www.noveltalk.com.  And on

the 28th, at www.romancedesigns.com.

For my Aids4Writers group:   I’ll be available for urgent questions all of April except the 17th through the 20th.  (Surgery.)

On the Writing Front…

I’ve been working on three projects.  One is mainstream, one is non-fiction and the third is Book 5 in my War Games series, KILL ZONE.  I’ve spent a lot of time with my nose pressed to the computer screen, but fortunately voice recognition software has improved and it no longer hates my Southern twang, it just massacres it.  Massacres can be edited, so I’m grateful—especially at being assured that sooner or later this

puppy will get trained.

You guys know I’m reluctant to blatantly plug my books, but I do want you know that my non-fiction and reprint publisher, Spilled Candy Traditional, is offering great discounts right now on both One Way to Write a Novel and The Prophet’s Lady. This is particularly helpful on Prophet because it is Trade paperback and it’s a big book.  The URL for the discounts is at www.spilledcandytraditional.com.

No recipe this month—who has time to cook???

Until next time, Writers, keep writing; Readers, keep reading; Booksellers, keep selling (please!),  and everyone, please keep our soldiers and their families in your thoughts and prayers.  Hard times for them.

Here’s hoping all of you are having far fewer “Duh” moments than I’m experiencing at the moment.  I just had new business cards made—and I spelled my name wrong.

Oh, the power of a good edit, eh? (LOL!)

Blessings,

Vicki

About Vicki Hinze
USA Today Bestselling and Award-Winning Author of 40+ books, short stories/novellas and hundreds of articles. Published in as many as 63 countries. Featured Columnist for Social-IN Worldwide Network and Book Fun Magazine. Sponsor/Founder of ChristiansRead.com & CleanReadBooks.com. FMI visit www.vickihinze.com.

One Response to 2006 April News

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

